Search - Categories
Search - Contacts
Search - Content
Search - News Feeds
Search - Tags
FOLLOW US... facebook twitter instagram youtube youtube Weather

The Congressional Cup is recognized as the ‘granddaddy’ of modern world-class match racing: the premier and longest running event of its kind in North America.

Founded by Long Beach Yacht Club in 1965, the Congressional Cup set the standard for top-level match racing worldwide, and pioneered the concept of on-the-water umpiring.

Each year, the world’s top-ranked sailors return to Long Beach, Calif. to compete in this rousing five-day regatta, vying for the prestigious Congressional Cup trophy and the Crimson Blazer.

What The Masters Green Jacket is to pro golfing, the Crimson Blazer is to yacht racing. Often referred to as the gateway to America’s Cup, many AC skippers have cut their teeth on the Congressional Cup: including Ted Turner, Dennis Conner, Ed Baird, Dean Barker, Taylor Canfield, James Spithill, Paul Cayard, Francesco Bruni, and the like. 

Most refer to the Congressional Cup as their favorite regatta of the year, due to the high level of competition and warm hospitality, alike. The event is hosted by a legion of 300 member volunteers; and April 3 to 7 LBYC will again put out the red carpet for these sailors, with the 55th running of the Congressional Cup.